Six Steps to His Heart

When talking about hosting the presence, there is not a better example found in Scripture than David. The man who so pursued God that he was given the title, “man after God’s own heart.” David came on the scene with a completely new perspective on worship. When everyone else is content with making sacrifices, David prays and says, “You do not delight in sacrifice” (Psalm 51:16). While everyone else is happy following a worship ritual that someone else told them to do, David says “I will become even more undignified than this” (2 Samuel 6:22). David was willing to endure the ridicule as long as he was able to offer a new sound to the Lord. This is why I think David was able to get so much of God’s attention – he offered a sound in worship that had not been offered to God before. David released such an authentic worship to Yahweh that even the prophets began to say that in the last days, God will restore the house of David! Not only that, could it be that His authentic sound was what planted him in the middle of the messianic line? David’s worship was so extravagant that Jesus Himself is called the Son of David!

The Davidic order of worship is such an inspiration to me that I want to take a couple of weeks and begin to pull some things out of the story line. My prayer is that this would be fuel for your devotional life, and provoke you to begin to release an extravagant, authentic sound to Yahweh in secret.

Six Steps of Devotion

While meditating on these things, the Lord first brought me to 2 Samuel 6. David is preparing to transport the Ark of the Covenant back to it’s home. This is one of the first times we see David begin to corporately express his revelation on worship. He orders that the consecrates ones, the priests, carry the Ark. He then places musicians and worshipers all around the Ark to minister to the Lord. There is so much to talk about in these few verses but I want to highlight one peculiar thing in this post. In verse 13 the Bible says that David ordered that oxen and fatted sheep be sacrificed every six steps. 

This is fascinating to me! Do you know how much it would cost to sacrifice animals every six steps? Do you know how much preparation had to go into sacrificing animals every six steps? This is an incredible picture of the devotional life. It speaks of the everyday moments of acknowledging the Lord’s presence. It speaks of the monotonous, moment-by-moment communion with Yeshua. How different would your life look if you acknowledged the Lord’s presence and began to offer worship to Him every six steps?

“Because you are close to me and always available, my confidence will never be shaken, for I experience your wrap around presence every moment.” – Psalm 16:8

I heard a message nearly 4 years ago that I still have not forgotten. The title of the message was “Suddenly Follows the Everyday’s”. We all want the “suddenly” encounters like Acts 2. But these kinds of encounters only come from a continuous, unceasing adoration of Him everyday. Every six steps we offer ourselves as living sacrifices to the King.

“Keep me before your face forever.” – Psalm 41:12b

Pay the price. Rearrange your life. Get rid of the distractions. Do whatever it takes to make Him the center of your attention. Let Him begin to consume your mind all throughout the day. As I walk through this life, I want to live in a day-to-day, hour-by-hour, moment-by-moment encounter with Him. May I never go more than six steps without loving Him.

“At each and every sunrise you will hear my voice as I prepare my sacrifice of prayer to you. Every morning I lay out the pieces of my life on the altar and wait for your fire to fall upon my hear.” – Psalm 5:3

I want to encourage you to do something: Set a place, set a time, and show up. Everyday. Don’t miss it for anything. It doesn’t have to be fancy, it doesn’t have to be impressive, you just have to be there every six steps. Every six steps will bring you closer to His heart.

If this post ministered to you, you can receive new content weekly by pressing the “Follow” button at the bottom of the page. 

One thought on “Six Steps to His Heart

Leave a Reply

