Search Engine

In case you didn’t know this already, the internet is insane. I searched for something the other day and within a few minutes I started seeing ads for the very thing I just searched for. Has this ever happened to you? Companies pay good money to have their websites designed specifically for this purpose. The internet knows to pay attention to what you search for so that it can advertise companies that you might be interested in. When this happened to me the other day, the Holy Spirit immediately began to show me something. I quickly got this phrase stuck in my head: You see it because you searched for it. 

As I began to meditate on this phrase, I realized that this is how life often works. Here is a simple yet profound thought, you will most often find whatever is that you look for. Here is what I mean by this. If you choose to search for negativity in life, you’ll find it. If you choose to search for the good in people, more often than not you will find it. We need to make a decision what we are going to search for in life.

The enemy works a lot like the internet. He pays attention to what you pay attention to. Many of you are frustrated by your surroundings. Maybe it is co-workers or neighbors, or maybe you just feel like bad things keep chasing you and nothing ever works out for you. I want to encourage you to re-evaluate what you have been searching for.

Do you know what you have to do to stop some of these ads? You have to clear your history. This reminds me of the renewed mind that Paul talks about in Romans 12. Some of you need to renew your mind in the secret place and begin to make some adjustments to what you spend your time looking at.

“You will live in the world you are most aware of.” – Bill Johnson

You have an opportunity to shape the atmosphere around you by choosing what you focus on. You will live in the world that you are most aware of so it is your responsibility to make sure you are more aware of the presence of God in your life than the presence of anything else. Have you ever noticed how people find other people with similar interests or personality traits? Example: Gossipers always find gossipers. If you are always surrounded by drama and gossip, it’s probably because you are a dramatic gossip yourself. This works in the Kingdom too! People who are searching for the things of God will run into others who are searching for the same thing. Renew your mind and become more aware of the Kingdom than the adversary!

It is the glory of God to conceal a matter; to search out a matter is the glory of kings.” – Proverbs 25:2 (NIV)

“God conceals the revelation of His Word in the hiding place of His glory. But the honor of kings is revealed to all by how they thoroughly search out the deeper meaning of all that God says.” – Proverbs 25:2 (TPT)

As I continued to think about this idea, Proverbs 25:2 came to mind. This is exactly how Yahweh reveals Himself. He will hide Himself until you search for Him. The Bible says seek and you will find. We must become God seekers. As we begin to search for Him, just like the ads, I know He will begin to pop up all over our lives. Like this scripture says, we need to thoroughly search for Him in everything. I know by experience that God seekers are God finders, 100% of the time.

One thing I ask from the Lord,
    this only do I seek:
that I may dwell in the house of the Lord
    all the days of my life,
to gaze on the beauty of the Lord
    and to seek him in his temple.” – Psalm 27:4

You will look like what you look at. You will become what you behold. I want to become a person who has eyes for only One. I want to be like the Seraphim who are spending eternity staring at the One on the Throne. My one desire would be to seek Him and to search Him out in all things. I ask you, what are you searching for today?

 

One thought on “Search Engine

Leave a Reply

