His Voice

I love the Bible. I really do. I have spent hours and hours studying. I’ve spent thousands of dollars on Bible college. I so value the word of God in my life. However, I believe His voice can be found in other areas of life as well. I actually think we limit His voice by only searching for it in the Bible. Now, allow me some time to clarify before you get offended at that statement. His voice is everywhere if we just look for it.

Do you have any creative friends? Maybe they paint or they write music. Whatever way they choose to express their creativity, when you see the final masterpiece, their personality is all over it. Their creation is shaped by who they are and if you know them well enough, you’ll be able to see that in their art. It’s such a beautiful thing! The Father is the same way. All of creation has His fingerprint on it. As I have paid more attention to this, I have started to notice that He is speaking all of the time, but I am infrequently listening.

In the Bible there are two words that are used when talking about the word of God: logos and rhema. Logos is predominantly used to describe a written word. This represents the Bible. Rhema is used to describe the spoken word. If we are going to fully grasp the depth of the word of God, we must embrace the rhema and the logos. 

There are two scriptures that come to my mind when I talk about this. The first one is Matthew 4:4.

“But He answered and said, “It is written, ‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God.’” – Matthew 4:4

Notice that it says that man will live by every word that proceeds out of the mouth of God. It does not say proceeded. God still wants to speak to you! There are words still proceeding out of the mouth of God and they are being spoken just for your ears!

The second verse is Romans 10:17.

“So then faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.” – Romans 10:17

Here is where this gets fun for me. Both of these scriptures use the word rhema when it describes the word of God. The depth of our faith literally hinges upon our willingness to hear and receive the rhema word of God! I must live by the word of God. Matthew 4:4 tells me that I need His voice in my life as often as I need to eat. My spiritual health hinges upon His voice in my life and how often I listen to it.

The Israelites learned this lesson while on their way to the promised land. God provided manna, bread from heaven, for them each day. Each morning they would find fresh manna on the ground waiting for them. There was only one condition, they had to eat new manna everyday because it would go stale after the day was over. This is so profound to me. I must receive fresh bread from Him everyday. I can’t live off of yesterday’s manna! I need His voice to be fresh in my heart today.

I will be in trouble with the Lord if I don’t make this one thing clear though. The rhema word will never contradict the logos word. They have the same Author and will always come into alignment with ea ch other. Gnosticism was a very popular movement in the days of the early church that claimed they had received “special knowledge” from God. This would eventually lead to them believing that the Bible was no longer necessary. I want to be clear, I am absolutely not suggesting this. What I am suggesting is that God is still speaking and will speak to you if you listen, but you will never hear something that does not line up with what you have read. This is imperative.

Jesus speaks to me through songs, movies, nature…This is one of my favorite things about Jesus. I love that He speaks to me. His voice is sweet and lovely and it ravishes my heart when He leans in and begins to whisper His secrets to me. I want to encourage you. Jesus wants to speak to you. Get alone with God this week. Don’t say anything. Just sit there and listen. I promise He will begin to share secrets with you.

Leave a Reply

