Resurrection Life

Happy Easter! We have the opportunity today to celebrate what Jesus did for us and oh what a joy that will be. While I love this day, my prayer for us is that all of our days would be a continual celebration of the resurrection of Jesus. May we live everyday with the cross on our minds!

I have spent a lot of time this week meditating on the Gospel story. It has been a week filled with the presence of the Lord as I spent the week being like Mary of Bethany, preparing Him for His burial by lavishing my worship at His feet. His presence has been so sweet this week and I have been overwhelmed with thankfulness as He has given me an even greater understanding of what He paid for. I would not be able to cover all of the things that Jesus paid for on the cross in my simple little blog post, but there are two specific things that the Lord has been highlighting to me all week that I want to share with you.

“Then He took the cup, and gave thanks, and gave it to them, saying, ‘Drink from it, all of you. For this is my blood of the new covenant, which is shed for many for the remission of sins.'” – Matthew 26:27-28

1. A Restored Covenant

In order to fully grasp the depth of the restored covenant, you must return to the garden. Adam and Eve walked with God in the cool of the day in unbroken communion. They had full access to Him! It was sin that separated them from God. Romans 5 teaches us that what was forfeited by Adam in the garden, is recovered by Jesus on the cross! Most people think that Jesus only died so that we can go to Heaven when we die. This is such good news but I don’t believe this is the only reason Jesus died on the cross. I believe Jesus not only died so that we could go to Heaven, but that He also died so that Heaven could come to earth. I believe that Jesus came to restore the unbroken communion that was lost in the garden.

During Passover, Jesus takes the cup and tells them, “this is my blood for the new covenant.” The word “new” here is actually the Aramaic word khawdata which could be translated “renewed or repaired” covenant. Jesus came and restored the covenant that God once had with man. He repaired what was broken by sin in the garden!

“But if the Spirit of Him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, He who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through His Spirit who dwells in you.” – Romans 8:11

2. Resurrection Power

Something that was probably skipped over when you were in Sunday School was that when Jesus was raised from the dead, the Bible says that many of the dead were raised that day. People who had already died came up from their graves and were literally walking around town. I can’t give you the full meaning of why this happened because I don’t fully understand it, but here is what I think this means. The resurrection power of Jesus was so ferocious that when Jesus died, He brought life to those who had been dead. I think this was a picture of what was now available to those who believed in Him. When His side was split, it released an abundance of resurrection life into all the earth. For you as a believer, you now have the same Spirit that raised Christ Jesus from the dead dwelling on the inside of you. That means that every situation you walk into must bow it’s knee to the resurrection power of Jesus that is dwelling on the inside of you. If there is a hopeless situation, walk into it with resurrection power living on the inside of you. I want to live my life knowing that although death may be all around me, I carry the power of One who brings resurrection life to a dead world!

Therefore, remember that formerly you who are Gentiles by birth and called “uncircumcised” by those who call themselves “the circumcision” (which is done in the body by human hands)—  remember that at that time you were separate from Christ, excluded from citizenship in Israel and foreigners to the covenants of the promise, without hope and without God in the world. But now in Christ Jesus you who once were far away have been brought near by the blood of Christ.” – Ephesians 2:11-13

I want to leave you with this. As we celebrate today, remember this passage. Though we were once lost and without hope, we have been brought near by the blood of Jesus. This is what I’m celebrating today. I was separated from Him but now I have been brought near to His heart again. Happy Easter.

One thought on “Resurrection Life

Leave a Reply

