A Seat at His Table

What a great time of the year! As many of you are probably doing, I have been revisiting some of the Scriptures that I grew up learning in church. As we approach Easter, I am returning to the truth that is found in the simple Gospel. I have truly been encountering the Lord as I think about the cross and begin worshiping the Lord with a thankful heart for all that He did for me on that cross. I am excited to celebrate this weekend, but even more so, I am thankful that my life is a continual celebration of the resurrection power of Jesus.

During this time of remembrance there is a particular Scripture that has struck me more than ever before – Romans 5:8. The enormity of this verse is exploding in my heart this week. I was recently talking with a friend about this verse and as we were talking, the Lord began to release a greater revelation of this truth to both of us. In this post, I hope to unwrap some of what the Lord was showing me during this phone call.

As you may know, tomorrow is Passover. This is when Jesus and the disciples gathered for what we would call “The Lord’s Supper” just before Jesus is arrested. Now, before we go into this story, I want you to think about Romans 5:8. While we were still sinners, Jesus died for us. Even though we had already sinned, Jesus still died for us. Even though He knew that we would later sin, He died for us. There are no words to describe to you how incredible this truth is, but let me give it my best shot.

“But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” – Romans 5:8

Jesus gathers the disciples together one last time, knowing that it was about to be a long three days. This is where Romans 5:8 comes into the picture. Jesus already knew that Judas was about to betray Him later that evening. Jesus already knew that Peter would deny Him three times before the rooster crows. He even knew, as Matthew 26:56 tells us, that all of the disciples would leave Him that very night. Despite knowing this, He still invited them to sit at the table with Him. He still wanted to spend time with them. He still wanted to talk to them. Even though they would soon betray Him, He still loved them and desired to be with them. He still wanted to demonstrate His love.

“None of your complications can get in the way of His demonstrations.”

How many times does He allow me to enter into His presence, all the while knowing that I would soon deny Him? How many times does He lavish His love on me, knowing that I would betray Him later? Before Jesus laid down His life for me, He saw every time that I would betray and deny Him. He could hear every word I would say and see everything I would ever do, and He still went. He endured the epitome of human suffering for my sake, and I could in no way prove that I was worth it. I was guilty, but His blood made me innocent.

May I remind you – there is a seat at His table for you. If there was a seat reserved for Judas, and a seat reserved for Peter, and a seat reserved for those who would soon leave Him, then there is certainly a seat for you too. It doesn’t matter what you have done or where you are, He has a seat reserved for you at His table. Maybe you have betrayed the Lord. Maybe you have denied Him. He has a seat waiting for you. So I encourage you, pull up a chair and celebrate in the presence of a risen Savior. He’s been waiting for you.

One thought on “A Seat at His Table

Leave a Reply

