Solitude on Sinai

“For they had departed from Rephidim, and had come to the Wilderness of Sinai, and camped in the wilderness. So Israel camped there before the mountain. And Moses went up to God, and the Lord called to him from the mountain…” – Exodus 19:2-3

In the book of Exodus we see Moses make a habit of going up on Mt. Sinai to meet with Yahweh. This is another incredible example of the powerful exchange that takes place when a man gets alone with God. I believe that Yahweh is calling to us from the mountain again! It’s going to take leaders who will get over their own ego, throw away their agendas and degrees, and answer the call from the One on the mountain top. It’s time to depart, find the wilderness, and set up camp next to the mountain.

There are a few things that I notice when I look at the devotional life of Moses that I believe are significant.

1. His Devotion Determined the Position of his People

When Moses answers the call from the Lord on the mountain, Israel has to camp before the mountain. Moses was leading Israel in devotion. All throughout Exodus we see that Israel was following a pillar of cloud by day and a pillar of fire by night. Israel camped around the presence, we camp around programs, coffee, and convenience. The Bible says that when Moses went into the tent of meeting in Exodus 33:7-10 that the cloud of glory would come and hover over the entire camp. All of the people would come out and begin to worship the Lord. In my opinion, a lot of preachers today are mostly glorified motivational speakers trying to convince uninterested people to love God when they should just usher in the cloud of glory that causes entire cities to worship the Lord. Go into the tent! Get on top of the mountain!

2. Revelation is Found on the Mountain

Moses received some of the highest degrees of revelation that man has received from God when he climbed Sinai. In fact, the 10 commandments were given on this mountain. There is another instance that I particularly like that has ministered to me greatly in the recent days. In Exodus 33:23 Moses climbs the mountain again and begins asking Yahweh questions. I love this! Aren’t you thankful that we can ask Him questions? Here is what blows me away though. Moses asks some pretty important questions and Yahweh doesn’t answer them. Instead, He just promises His presence. In vs. 14 He responds with “My presence will go with you.” Moses was learning a valuable lesson that I am trying to learn today. The answer is always presence. Where do I go to school? Go where His presence is. Who do I marry? Go where His presence is. Should I accept this job offer? Go where His presence is. God is so good to make it so simple. One thing have a desired of the Lord! It’s almost as if Yahweh was saying, “Go wherever you want but don’t go without my presence!”

“So be ready in the morning, and come up in the morning to Mount Sinai, and present yourself to Me there on the top of the mountain. And no man shall come up with you, and let no man be seen throughout all the mountain; let neither flocks nor herds feed before that mountain.” – Exodus 34:2-3

3. Moses Glowed

The Bible says in Exodus 34:35 that whenever Moses came off the mountain, his face shone so bright that he had to be covered. They literally had to veil his face until he went back to speak with Yahweh again. I don’t ever want to settle for business cards and advertisements when I could glow. Oh I want to encourage you so much, go onto your mountain until you glow! Preacher, don’t sand behind another pulpit unless you’re glowing! Mom, don’t go to the grocery store unless you’re glowing! Doctor, don’t operate on someone until you’re glowing! CEO, don’t run your business without glowing! Student, don’t go to class without glowing! Oh how I long to see the people of God glowing next to a mountain of devotion again. I don’t know about you, but I am not willing to settle for a life without glowing!

In closing, I’ll leave you with this. Moses got alone with God and it says that God spoke to Moses face-to-face, as a friend speaks to a friend. How many of you desire this kind of friendship with God? I know I do. In a life full of so many choices, I choose Sinai. Are you willing to ascend the mountain?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

