The Secret Place

Inactivity is seen as the greatest activity in the plan of God: spending time alone with the Lord – K.P. Yohannan

Spending time alone with God is the highest priority and the highest calling in the life of every believer. There is absolutely nothing more important than living in this place. His presence is the most valuable thing we can receive and His presence will most often come when we are alone with Him.

When I refer to the secret place, I am simply talking about the place where you spend time with God alone. Jesus tells us in Matthew 6:6 that when we pray, we are to go into our room, close the door, and pray to God who is in the secret place. All throughout scripture we see men and women encountering God once they got alone with Him. It is paramount that we do the same.

Many point to the great commission and I believe in it, but I believe there is a greater commission. In Matthew 22:37, Jesus tells the scribes that the first and greatest commandment is to love Him. I like that Jesus did not only say that it was the greatest but it is also first. It is important to see that we can accomplish nothing in public if we do not first learn to love Him in private. Jesus even addresses this in Matthew 7:21-23 when He said that while some will perform great exploits, they will be turned away because He did not know them. He was saying that He never knew them in intimately. I don’t know about you, but I do not want to face Him and find out that my resume’ is not enough. I want to know Him and love Him first.

I believe that it was Yahweh’s design from the beginning for us to walk with Him in the cool of the day in a garden of love. It was the blood of Jesus that restores our access into that same garden. Jesus paid the ultimate price so that He could be with His people again. He is in love with us and He demonstrated His love for us by enduring the epitome of human suffering so that we could walk with Him again. I want to respond to this love that’s been lavished on me by loving Him in return in the secret place.

I am going to be starting a series of posts on the secret place but I wanted to start with this one to lay the foundation. I can’t say it enough, knowing and loving Him in secret is the highest priority in life. I encourage you to do as Jesus said in Matthew 6. Go into your room, close the door, and love Him in secret.

Leave a Reply

