Mountain of Devotion – The Prayer Life of Jesus

The importance of the secret place could not be adequately described without examining the prayer life of Jesus. 1 John 2:6 tells us that if we claim to live in Him, we must live as He did. As we study the life of Jesus on earth we see Him continually pulling away to be alone with the Father. Time and time again He retreats from the crowds to go hear what the Father is saying. I don’t know about you, but I want to live like Jesus did and I want to be devoted to the secret place like Jesus was.

It is amazing to me when I think about His time on earth. He only had three years of active ministry! What are you doing “wasting” so much time on a mountain? If I only had three years, I would do everything I could to reach as many people as possible. I would be out everyday praying for as many sick people as possible, and preaching as many sermons as I could. Oh how differently Jesus did ministry than we do today. Jesus spent whole days and nights alone on a mountain stop seeking the Father’s voice. Even though He knew His time on earth was limited, Jesus did not buy into the pressure to do more. He was securely rooted in the understanding that the mountain of devotion was the key to His success in ministry.

“So He Himself often withdrew into the wilderness and prayed” – Luke 5:16

“Now in the morning, having risen long before the sun, He went out and departed to a solitary place; and there He prayed” – Mark 1:35

“And when He had sent the multitudes away, He went up on the mountain by ¬†Himself to pray.” – Matthew 14:23

“Now it came to pass in those days that He went out to the mountain to pray, and continued all night in prayer to God” – Luke 6:12-13

I believe that Jesus’ prayer life was the greatest sermon He ever preached. He demonstrated how to connect with Yahweh. He so demonstrated this that His disciples chose this very thing to ask Him about in Luke 11:1. They didn’t ask Him how to perform miracles or cast out devils, they didn’t ask Him how to become better preachers, they didn’t even ask Him what they were called to do in life. After living and walking with Him the primary thing they were interested in discovering was how to pray like He did. I wonder what question my life is provoking? I wonder what people who are around me would begin to ask. Oh how I long to live a life that beckons devotional questions from those around me. I don’t ever want to be known only as a man that can do ministry, I want to be known as a man that provokes prayer everywhere I go.

Jesus gives us a perfect example of devotion to the Father. Continually pulling away to be alone with Him and choosing not to move until Yahweh speaks. I want to live my life this way. In closing, I’ll leave you with this – If the spotless, flawless Lamb of God so desperately needed the secret place, how much more do we?

One thought on “Mountain of Devotion – The Prayer Life of Jesus

Leave a Reply

